Go 1986 Wellington 
1985 Pukekohe 
Back to index page

Nissan 500 Wellington 1985

Wellington Street Circuit, New Zealand

Date: 27/1/1985
Track length: 3.228 m
Attendance: unknown
Entries accepted: unknown
Starters: About 20
Finishers: unknown

Pole position: Johnson in 1.32,64
Fastest lap: Delcourt in 1.29,5

Distance: 375 km (Race shortened from 500 km to 375 km to fit in with local TV arrangements, due to slower than expected speeds.)
Average speed: unknown
Weather: unknown
Ruleset: Group A
Car info: 1984 Cars


The series attracted a TWR Rover Vitesse fresh from winning the Group A class at the 1984 Bathurst 1000 for Tom Walkinshaw and Ron Dickson. The Holden Dealer Team was to debut the brand new Holden Commodore VK SS for Peter Brock and Larry Perkins. There would be three of the reliable BMW 635s for Benson & Hedges series winners Neville Crichton/Wayne Wilkinson; 1984 Pukekohe 6-hour winners Kent Baigent/Neal Lowe and one car for John Morton/Frank Sytner.
The fast but fragile Pinepac Ford Fairmont (Falcon) XE V8 was back for Dick Johnson and Bruce Anderson. An interesting new entry on the Australasian scene was the Mark Petch entered Volvo 240 Turbo for Robbie Francevic and Michel Delcourt.
The rest of the field included a second, local Holden Commodore VK SS, two Toyota Corolla GTs for Paul Adams/Allan Woolf and Bob Holden and Glenn Clark.
From Australia there was the Audi 5+5 for Chris Heyer and Graham McGregor and an Alfa Romeo GTV6 for Ray Gulson.

The Wellington race was the first round and Dick Johnson surprised by taking pole position in the big Fairmont. He was followed by Kent Baigent, Neville Crichton, Tom Walkinshaw, Peter Brock and Frank Sytner. The Volvo 240 Turbo arrived in the country late and cleared customs just in time to start the race from the back of the grid. In the race itself, Johnson led from the start until the Fairmont broke an axle. The black BMW of Crichton and Wilkinson led for many laps and the new HDT Commodore of Brock and Perkins took a turn to lead briefly. However, the Volvo flew through from the back of the field, got caught up in various incidents which left the bonnet flapping and bumpers handing off, yet still somehow found itself leading the race at the right time and won the race from the Morton/Sytner and Crichton/Wilkinson BMWs.

Division 1, 2 and 3
Pos Pos in class # Team / Entrant
Car- Engine
Drivers, Nationality Engine
vol. (cc)
Group Distance,
Qualifying position Qualifying time Fastest lap Reason out,
1 1 11 Mark Petch Racing
Volvo 240 Turbo
Michel Delcourt, B
Robbie Francevic, NZ
2141 tc L4 Div. 3 150 laps 20 no time 1.29,5  
2 2 6 Johnstone BMW Auckland
BMW 635 CSi
Frank Sytner, GB
John Morton, NZ
3475 L6 Div. 3 149 4 1.34,37    
3 3 4 John Andrew Motorsport/JPS
BMW 635 CSi
Neville Crichton, NZ
Wayne Wilkinson, NZ
3475 L6 Div. 3 148 2 1.33,67    
4 4 05 Holden Dealer Team
Holden VK Commodore
Peter Brock, AUS
Larry Perkins, AUS
5044 V8 Div. 3 145 6 1.35,65    
5 1 71  
Toyota Corolla GT AE86
Paul Adams, NZ
Allan Woolf, NZ
1587 L4 Div. 1 138 9 1.40,42    
6 1 32  
Isuzu Gemini ZZ
Glenn McIntyre, NZ
Dennis Roderick, NZ
1817 L4 Div. 2 136 13      
7 5 3 Tellus Vacuum Cleaners
BMW 635 CSi
Kent Baigent, NZ
Neal Lowe, NZ
3475 L6 Div. 3 135 3 1.3,49   Accident
8 2 37 Dealer Team Nissan
Nissan Bluebird Turbo
Kevin Ryan, NZ
Ian "Inky" Tulloch, NZ
1770 tc L4 Div. 2 134 14      
9 3 34 Chris Heyer's Kingswood Import Centre
Audi 80 2.2
Chris Heyer, AUS
Graham McGregor, NZ
2145 L5 Div. 2 132 16      
10 2 74 Sip ‘n Save Wines
Colin McGregor, NZ
Graham McGregor, NZ
1588 L4 Div. 1 129 12      
11 3 72 Bob Holden Motors
Toyota Sprinter
Bob Holden, AUS
Glenn Clark, NZ
1587 L4 Div. 1 129 10      
12 4 8 Gemco Motor Sport
Fiat Ritmo 130TC
Gary Pederson, NZ
Dave McMillan, NZ
1995 L4 Div. 2 127 8 1.39,43    
13 6 9  
Holden VK Commodore
Lew McKinnon, NZ
John Power, NZ
5044 V8 Div. 3 122 19 1.49,06    
14 5 36 MacDonald Halligan Motors
Mitsubishi Mirage Turbo
Derek MacDonald, NZ
Ross MacDonald, NZ
1597 tc L4 Div. 2 116 18      
    10 Pegasus Enterprises Ltd.
Holden Commodore
Robert Delbin, NZ
Chris Delbin, NZ
5044 V8 Div. 3   17 1.48,65    
    31 L. Tattle
Fiat Ritmo 130TC
Bob Barry, NZ
Rob Whitehouse, NZ
1995 L4 Div. 2   15      
DSQ   67  
Alfa Romeo Alfetta GTV/6
Ray Gulson, AUS
Grant O'Donnell, AUS
2491 V6 Div. 2   7 1.37,14   Tires too wide
DSQ   73 K. Bolton
Toyota Corolla GT AE86
Steve Willy, NZ
David Janes, NZ
1587 L4 Div. 1   11     Body modifications
Rover Vitesse
Tom Walkinshaw, GB
Ron Dickson, AUS
3532 V8 Div. 3   5 1.35,50   Gearbox
DNF   7 Anderson & O'Leary
Ford Falcon XE
Dick Johnson, AUS
Bruce Anderson, NZ
5760 V8 Div. 3   1 1.32,49   Brakes or axle
DNS   18 McFarlane’s Tyre Service
Ford Capri III 3.0S
Bill McFarlane, NZ
Wayne Murdoch, NZ
2993 V6 Div. 3         Accident in practice