1976 Thruxton 2 
1975 Silverstone 2  Go 1977 Silverstone 2 
1976 Brands Hatch 2 
Back to index page


Silverstone Club circuit, Northampton, Great-Britain

Date: 31/5/1976
Track length: 2.588 m
Entries accepted:

Pole position: Walkinshaw in 1.06,2
Fastest lap: Spice and Walkinshaw, 1.06,4 = 140,30 kmh

Distance: 32 laps
Average speed: 138,54 kmh
Weather: Rain towards the end of the race
Ruleset: Group 1B
Car info: 1976 Cars


Winner of the last round - Tom Walkinshaw - had jetted-in from the Nürburgring 1000 kms race where he suffered most cruel luck, but any feelings of sadness were quickly dispelled as the Scotsman clinched pole position in his Team Castrol/London Sports Car Centre Capri with a 1.06,2 lap. In a show of extreme confidence, Walkinshaw sat out the last 15 minutes of practice, apparently safe in the knowledge that no one would beat his time, and indeed this was the case.

The traffic lights flashed red, and 10s later the green shone out and it was Spice making a fine start to lead Walkinshaw and Brodie into Copse, followed by Rouse, Lloyd, Rolt and Vandervell. The end of the first lap saw the leading cars bunched together in a seemingly impossible formation as they hustled and jostled their way round Woodcote, and for the next five laps Spice and Walkinshaw inched away leaving Brodie and Rouse locked in combat together with Lloyd, Vandervell, the ebullient Marshall and Martin Thomas in his Sprint. Woodman's Capri was tucked in there as well, but three laps later he was out with a broken clutch cable, as Spice and Walkinshaw were now appreciably clear of the third-place battle. This was not for the faint-hearted, for Brodie and Rouse were putting in a super show which saloon car buffs were loving. Behind this dynamic duo other bodywork was suffering as Stuart Rolt's Capri got more than sideways at Woodcote and smashed into Lloyd's Opel as Marshall and Vandervell took avoiding action.

Stirring stuff indeed, but gradually it petered out as Lloyd dropped further and further back as his clutch refused to operate, but it still left Marshall and Vandervell fighting it out behind Brodie and Rouse, who in turn were now some way behind the two leaders. Further down the field Percy's Toyota was easily leading its class, as was the Avenger of Unett, whilst Smith was certainly making his Renault 5 TS motor in remarkable fashion. As the race progressed it was evident that Walkinshaw just did not have the required power to get by Spice, and although the Hermetite driver could close up on braking, Spice was able to pull away on the straights to retain his advantage. This superiority was further emphasised towards the end of the race when rain began to fall, for Walkinshaw was then not able to "late brake" Spice for fear of locking-up and going off. Spice kept his head in the best possible fashion to take the flag 7s clear of Walkinshaw, but third place was still in the balance as Rouse and Brodie were at it hammer and tongs for class supremacy.

Rouse had opined before the race that he thought his brakes might fade towards the end, and as if preordained, this is exactly what happened with just a few laps remaining. The crafty Brodie pressured Rouse all the way, and with two laps left the Mazda slipped by at Woodcote and held on to hand British Leyland another drubbing, and to win himself the Allied Polymer Driver of the Day Award after a superb drive.
The Marshall/Vandervell fracas resulted in a win for Big Gerry ahead of the Triplex Capri, by 0.8s, whilst Percy maintained his winning ways together with Unett, who finished a lap down on Whizzo ("It wouldn't go any faster") Williams.

Touring Cars class C-D
Pos Pos in class # Team / Entrant
Car- Engine
Drivers, Nationality Engine
vol. (cc)
Group Distance,
Qualifying position Qualifying time Fastest lap Reason out,
1 1   Wisharts Garages
Ford Capri II 3.0
Gordon Spice, GB
2993 V6 D 32 laps, 35.51,6 2 1.06,6 1.06,4  
2 2   Team Castrol
Ford Capri II 3.0
Tom Walkinshaw, GB
2993 V6 D 32 1 1.06,2 1.06,4  
3 1   Mazda Dealer Team
Mazda Savanna RX-3
Dave Brodie, GB
2 x 491 R2 C 32 laps, 36.15,4 3 1.06,8 1.06,8  
4 2   British Leyland
Triumph Dolomite Sprint
Andy Rouse, GB
1998 L4 C 32 5 1.07,6    
5 3   Dealer Team Vauxhall
Vauxhall Firenza Magnum 2300
Gerry Marshall, GB
2279 L4 C 32 8 1.08,2    
6 3   Triplex
Ford Capri II 3.0
Colin Vandervell, GB
2993 V6 D 32, 0,8 sec behind Marshall 9?      
  1   Samuri Racing with Toyota GB
Toyota Celica GT
Win Percy, GB
1588 L4 B 31 laps, 36.57,6 (1)   1.10,2  
  2   Samuri Racing with Toyota GB
Toyota Celica GT
Barrie Williams, GB
1588 L4 B 30        
Toyota Celica GT
Patrick Cobb, GB
1588 L4 B 30        
  1   Mopar
Hillman Avenger 1300
Bernard Unett, GB
1295 L4 A 29 laps, 36.50,4 (1)   1.15,0  
Renault R 5 TS
Marc Smith, GB
1289 L4 A 29        
Alfa Romeo 1300 GT Junior
Peter Hilliard, GB
1290 L4 A 29        
      Ottershaw Motors
Opel Commodore GS/E
Richard Lloyd, GB
2784 L6 D   7 1.08,0   Clutch
Triumph Dolomite Sprint
Martin Thomas, GB
1998 L4 C          
Ford Capri II 3.0
Stuart Rolt, GB
2993 V6 D          
DNF     Esso Uniflo
Ford Capri II 3.0
Vince Woodman, GB
2993 V6 D 32 4     Clutch cable
DNS     Tricentrol
Ford Capri II 3.0
Chris Craft, GB
2993 V6 D   6 1.07,6   Engine