1963 Silverstone GP 
1962 Brands Hatch BSCC  Go 1964 Brands Hatch Guards 
1963 Brands Hatch Sept 
Back to index page

The Slip Molyslip Trophy

Brands Hatch Circuit, Kent, Great-Britain

Date: 5/8/1963
Track length:
Entries accepted:
Starters: 28

Pole position: Sears
Fastest lap: Clark in 1.54,6 = 134,20 kmh

Distance: 20 laps
Average speed: 131,19 kmh
Weather: Dry
Ruleset: Group 2
Car info: 1963 Cars


Miraculous near misses came when Sir Gawaine Baillie found his Galaxie unwilling to get going at the start and Mike Salmon for one dented his car. It was Clark ahead of Sears, the two Ford Galaxie pilots wrestling at the wheel, working as never before. The Jaguar pilots too were right on the ragged edge, Salvadori leading Hill and Salmon by a whisker. On the second lap, Sears nearly got his Galaxie Sideways at Bottom Bend, while the World Champion visited the grass. It was on the third lap that Hill overtook Salvadori for third place, the Coombs machine taking the Atkins car brilliantly between Druids and Bottom Bend. Behind fifth man Salmon, who was keeping right on the heels of Hill and Salvadori, came the battling pair Albert Powell and John Adams (Jaguars) and then John Whitmore (Mini-Cooper S) and Bob Olthoff (Ford Cortina), the last two leading their respective classes. Further back Paddy Hopkirk was weaving his way through the field, following a none too brilliant start in the second works Mini Cooper S.
The splendid spectacle of Galaxie drivers working really hard ceased on the ninth lap when Sears trickled into the pits with a flat front tyre, leaving Clark in a commanding position. Hill, Salvadori, Salmon, Adams and Powell followed in Jaguars and, behind, Olthoff had taken Whitmore. Chris McLaren came next in his Jaguar, followed by Jimmy Blumer (Ford Cortina), David Haynes (Ford Cortina), Mike Young (Ford Anglia) and Hopkirk. Powell's car, belching thick smoke, died on the 11th lap, McLaren passed Whitmore, both these drivers taking Olthoff, and Hopkirk came to grips with Young.
David Haynes, travelling in close company with Paddy Hopkirk and Mike Young, had a nasty accident at South Bank Bend on the 17th lap when he rolled his Cortina in the middle of the track. Hopkirk took a wide diversion by going onto the grass, but Young got through safely and now appeared to have second place in the 1300 cc class buttoned up.
So Clark emerged winner from Hill and Salvadori, with Salmon right up his exhaust pipe in the closing stages. Whitmore of course gained the 1300 cc class and Olthoff made sure of the 3000 cc honours.
Source : Autosport

Class A-D
Pos Pos in class # Team / Entrant
Car- Engine
Drivers, Nationality Engine
vol. (cc)
Group Distance,
Qualifying position Qualifying time Fastest lap Reason out,
1 1 121 Alan Brown
Ford Galaxie
Jim Clark, GB
6997 V8 D 20 laps, 39.00,6 2   1.54,4  
2 2 124 John Coombs
Jaguar Mk II 3.8
Graham Hill, GB
3781 L6 D 20 4      
3 3 125 Tommy Atkins
Jaguar Mk II 3.8
Roy Salvadori, GB
3781 L6 D 20 5      
4 4 126 Atherstone Engineering
Jaguar Mk II 3.8
Mike Salmon, GB
3781 L6 D 20 10      
5 5 129 Team Tourist Trophy
Jaguar Mk II 3.8
John Adams, GB
3781 L6 D 20 7      
6 6 127  
Jaguar Mk II 3.8
Chris McLaren, GB
3781 L6 D 20 25      
7 1 140 Cooper Car Co.
Austin Mini Cooper S
John Whitmore, GB
1071 L4 A 20 laps, 40.45,4 6   2.00,6  
8 1 135 John Willment Automobiles
Ford Cortina GT
Bob Olthoff, ZA
1498 L4 B 20 laps, 40.48,8 9      
9 2 136 Alan Andrews racing
Ford Cortina GT
Jimmy Blumer, GB
1498 L4 B 20 15   2.00,2  
10 2 138 Superspeed Conversions Ltd.
Ford Anglia Super
Mike Young, GB
1198 L4 A 19 11      
11 3 141 Cooper Car Co.
Morris Mini Cooper S
Paddy Hopkirk, IRL
1071 L4 A 19 27      
12 4 150 Broadspeed Engineering
Austin Mini Cooper S
John Fitzpatrick, GB
1071 L4 A 19 18      
13 3 151 John Willment Automobiles
Ford Cortina GT
Les Leston, GB
1498 L4 B 19 19      
14 7 128  
Jaguar Mk II 3.8
Mike Pendleton, GB
3781 L6 D 19 16      
15 5 137 Alan Andrews racing
Ford Anglia Super
Henry Taylor, GB
1198 L4 A 19 13      
16 6 145 Alexander Engineering Co.
Austin Mini Cooper S
Elizabeth Jones, GB
1071 L4 A 19 20      
Ford Anglia Super
Anita Taylor, GB
1198 L4 A   21      
    132 Lawrencetune Engines
Vauxhall VX 4/90
Bill Blydenstein, GB
1548 L4 B   12      
    131 Alan Fraser Racing Team
Sunbeam Rapier Series IIIA
Rosemary Smith, IRL
1592 L4 B   22      
    149 Alan Fraser Racing Team
Sunbeam Rapier Series IIIA
Peter Pilsworth, GB
1592 L4 B   23      
    146 Westover Racing
Morris Mini Cooper S
Edward Lewis, GB
1071 L4 A   17      
    147 Marquis de Montaigu
Fiat Abarth 1000 TC
Peter Clarke, GB
982 L4 A   28?      
DNF   122 John Willment Automobiles
Ford Galaxie
Jack Sears, GB
6997 V8 D 8 1     Puncture
DNF   134 John Willment Automobiles
Ford Cortina GT
David Haynes, GB
1498 L4 B 15 8     Accident
DNF   123  
Ford Galaxie
Gawaine Baillie, GB
6997 V8 D   3      
DNF   130 Zenith Films
Jaguar Mk II 3.8
Albert Powell, GB
3781 L6 D 10 14     Engine?
DNF   133  
Riley 1.5
Alan Hutcheson, GB
1489 L4 B   26      
DNF   144 Alexander Engineering Co.
Austin Mini Cooper S
Mick Clare, GB
1071 L4 A   24