1960 Snetterton 
1960 Oulton Park 
Back to index page

Mallory Park

Mallory Park, Great Britain

Date: 8/5/1960
Track length: 2.171 m?
Entries accepted:
Starters: 16?
Finishers: unknown

Pole position:
Fastest lap: Young

Distance: 12 laps
Average speed: 115,93 kmh
Ruleset: SupaTura 1000 cc
Car info:  


Of course, Shepherd took the lead right from the start, while Young had to start from the back. Lewis was in second place in front of Richard-Aley and Gaston, and Young had progressed to sixth after one lap. Soon, Richard-Aley took second, Gaston progressed to third, Lawrence was fourth, Young fifth and Lewis had dropped to sixth.
Lap three, Young had climbed to fourth and by lap five he had disposed of Gaston and was third. Finally, in lap six he took Richard-Aley for second. In the mean time, Shepherd had increased his lead over the others, but Young came on strong and closed the gap, helped by the fact that Shepherd ran into backmarkers from lap 7 on. In the end, he was 0,2 seconds short of Shepherd to beat him on the line.

Touring cars
Pos Pos in class # Team / Entrant
Car- Engine
Drivers, Nationality Engine
vol. (cc)
Group Distance,
Qualifying position Qualifying time Fastest lap Reason out,
1 1 117 Don Moore Racing
Austin A40
George "Doc" Shepherd, GB
990 L4 1000 12 laps        
2 2 119  
Ford Anglia
John Young, GB
997 L4 1000 12 laps, 0,2 sec behind   no time x  
3 3 110 Cambridge Racing
Austin A35
John Aley, GB
948 L4 1000 12        
Austin A40
Paddy Gaston, GB
948 L4 1000          
Austin A35
Edward Lewis, GB
948 L4 1000          
Austin A40
George Lawrence, GB
948 L4 1000          
Austin A40
Dennis Clarke, GB
978 L4 1000          
Austin A40
M.V. Mackie
948 L4 1000          
    109 Cambridge Racing
Austin A40
B.D. Whitaker, GB
1000 L4 1000          
    104 SAH Accessories
Saab 93
Syd Hurrell, GB
748 L3 1000          
Austin Mini Seven
Bill Bradley, GB
848 L4 1000          
    106 Clare’s Garage
Morris Mini Minor
Mick Clare, GB
848 L4 1000          
Morris Mini Minor
Tony Rutt, GB
848 L4 1000          
    108 W Heathcote
Morris Mini Minor
Mike Anthony, GB
848 L4 1000          
Auto Union 1000S
Nicky Byrne, GB
981 L3 1000          
Ford Anglia
Mike Graber, GB
997 L4 1000