The End of the Line - 1972 index

The last year of Trams-Am as we came to know it was 1972. The next years would be different. But first, there was a 1972 championship to contest. The last factory team, AMC Penske withdrew, but the cars and AMC's support were moved over to the RWR team. The "O" series was reduced to a mere 7 races, and the RWR team grabbed the title wih four race wins.
The "U" class had an 11-race championship and healthy entries, though the BRE Datsun's were in a different league, winning 9 out of the 11 races.

For the first time, driver championships were awarded; Follmer took the title in O, Morton in U.

The races:

The car

Final classification

Trans-Am index