The Top - 1970

Trans-Am's best year proved to be 1970. Semiworks teams from AMC, Chevrolet, Plymouth, Ford and Dodge left nothing to be desired. Big names were entered, like Jim Hall, Dan Gurney, Swede Savage and Vic Elford, on top of last years' entry. The rules were changed and drifted away from FIA's group 2, though like in Europe the Porsches could not continue in the small class.
Ford and Alfa Romeo became champions, but that left many works teams without the title. The bill would be presented in 1971 - hardly works teams anymore, and a steep decline for the championship.

The races:

The cars

Final classification

Trans-Am index